World Updates

Fitzpatrick and Byrne to contest vacant Central Council role at Louth Convention

PETER Fitzpatrick will go before delegates at the upcoming Louth GAA Annual Convention unopposed as he seeks a fourth term as Co Board chairman – but the local TD is also in the mix for the position of central council delegate.

he nominations for the convention, which takes place on December 12th in the Louth GAA Centre of Excellence in Darver, have been confirmed and the job of central council delegate is now vacant after Pat Toner completed the maximum permitted five years in that role.

However, Fitzpatrick will have to see off Declan Byrne of O’Connell’s who is also a nominee.

Otherwise the 2023 County Board will be largely unchanged as Peter Sage, Bob Doheny, Aidan Berrill and Mark Byrne are unopposed for the positions of vice-chairperson, secretary, treasurer and public relations officer respectively.

But Fra Kieran faces competition from Stephen Murphy of Naomh Mairtin and Declan Byrne (O’Connell’s) to retain his position as assistant secretary.

There will be a new assistant treasurer also as Aidan Halpin has completed his five-year term, with Damien McCann of St Mochta’s and Declan Byrne the two nominees for that role.

David Rodgers and Colm Marry will be returned unopposed as the delegates for Leinster Council.


Chairperson – Peter Fitzpatrick (Clan na Gael) outgoing

Vice-Chairperson – Peter Sage (Sean O’Mahony’s) outgoing

Secretary – Bob Doheny (St Kevin’s) outgoing

Assistant Secretary – Fra Kieran (Clan na Gael) outgoing, Stephen Murphy (Naomh Mairtin), Declan Byrne (O’Connell’s)

Treasurer – Aidan Berrill (Naomh Mairtin) outgoing

Assistant Treasurer – Damien McCann (St Mochta’s), Declan Byrne (O’Connell’s)

Irish Language Cultural Officer – Yvonne Quigley (Kilkerley Emmets) 

Public Relations Officer – Mark Byrne (Naomh Mairtin) outgoing

Central Council Delegate – Peter Fitzpatrick (Clan na Gael), Declan Byrne (O’Connell’s)

Leinster Council Delegates (2) – David Rogers (St Kevin’s), Colm Marry (St Bride’s)

Delegates to Congress 2023 (2) – David Rogers (St Kevin’s), Aidan Berrill (Naomh Mairtin), Peter Sage (Sean O’Mahony’s), Fra Kieran (Clan na Gael), Declan Byrne (O’Connell’s), Paddy McMahony (Sean O’Mahony’s)

Delegates to Leinster Convention (4) – Bob Doheny (St Kevin’s), Aidan Berrill (Naomh Mairtin), Peter Sage (Sean O’Mahony’s), Fra Kieran (Clan na Gael), Sean McClean (Hunterstown Rovers), Paddy McMahon (Sean O’Mahony’s), Declan Byrne (O’Connell’s)

Get Latest news for :
todaynewsuk || Latest Today News Uk || Sports News


Back to top button